Just upgraded from v4 - some questions about v6

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
SimonB
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 14. Oct 2019, 21:15

Just upgraded from v4 - some questions about v6

Post by SimonB » Mon 14. Oct 2019, 21:35

Hi,

How can I move the track element palette in RMPro v6 so that it runs along the bottom of the screen, rather than being vertical in the left hand window?

It uses up loads of my screen real estate (16x9 laptop) and gets in the way of seeing the actual layout plan. And although the cursor changes to the OSX "adjust column width" icon when mousing over the right hand edge of the left hand window, I can't actually make it any thinner (or thicker - not that I'd want that).

Also, when using the smart insert tool I get a different connecting curve between two tracks depending on which of the tracks I want to join that I choose first. Surely the geometry for the smart inserted curve should be identical no matter which of the tracks I choose first/second?

Thanks
S.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Just upgraded from v4 - some questions about v6

Post by RailModeller Support » Tue 15. Oct 2019, 09:31

Hi Simon,
SimonB wrote:
Mon 14. Oct 2019, 21:35
How can I move the track element palette in RMPro v6 so that it runs along the bottom of the screen, rather than being vertical in the left hand window?
The location of the Library Catalog is currently fixed but you can hide it - and the sidebar containing the inspectors to the right - using the toolbar controls or the commands provided in the View menu:

library_hidden.png
library_hidden.png (393.62 KiB) Viewed 437 times

SimonB wrote:
Mon 14. Oct 2019, 21:35
Also, when using the smart insert tool I get a different connecting curve between two tracks depending on which of the tracks I want to join that I choose first
The permutation/order of potential solutions presented in the assistant might be different.
You can send a sample layout where you have observed this to our support email address if you'd like me to have a look!

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

SimonB
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 14. Oct 2019, 21:15

Re: Just upgraded from v4 - some questions about v6

Post by SimonB » Tue 15. Oct 2019, 10:33

Hi Jan,

I'll send you the layout plan so you can see what I mean.

For other forum users, here's a screenshot showing the two curves created, depending on which anchor point you start at.
Screen Shot 2019-10-15 at 11.31.00.png
Screen Shot 2019-10-15 at 11.31.00.png (338.15 KiB) Viewed 435 times
Cheers
Simon

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Just upgraded from v4 - some questions about v6

Post by RailModeller Support » Tue 15. Oct 2019, 13:28

Ah, I see - creating a flex track connected to both joints.
Indeed, it should result in the same shape no matter which joint you're starting from.

I'll have a look!

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Post Reply