Traverser

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
FatController
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2018, 16:39

Traverser

Post by FatController » Sat 14. Apr 2018, 16:40

Hi
As part of a layout I would like to add a 4 road rectangular traverser as my 'fiddle' yard.
I can't see any way to do this, or am I missing something?

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Traverser

Post by RailModeller Support » Sun 15. Apr 2018, 08:23

Hi there,

could you add a picture or a link to a similar configuration to clarify?

thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RailModeller
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

FatController
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2018, 16:39

Re: Traverser

Post by FatController » Mon 16. Apr 2018, 21:11

Something like this is what I have in mind
63A879C9-E5C0-438F-B6A5-977E9C2D1469.jpeg
63A879C9-E5C0-438F-B6A5-977E9C2D1469.jpeg (47.88 KiB) Viewed 250 times

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Traverser

Post by RailModeller Support » Tue 17. Apr 2018, 14:33

I see - thanks for clarifying!

There are many transfer tables for various manufacturers included in either the dedicated track libraries for the specific track system or in the 'Various turntables' libraries for each model scale, usually when the vendor only produces transfer tables/turntables as a third party accessory and doesn't offer an entire track system.

Let me know if there's any specific transfer table you're missing!

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RailModeller
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

FatController
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2018, 16:39

Re: Traverser

Post by FatController » Sat 21. Apr 2018, 13:46

Hi Jan
There aren't any transfer tables / turn tables that fit what I am trying to achieve.
Most of the traverser set ups are from one line to multiple lines, like my picture. There is nothing trace libraries that match.
To be honest I didn't think there would be but thought there may be an easy way of creating one like there is for tunnels.
The only way I can see to show one is to insert the track, copy it a few times and then draw the rest in the drawing tools. A bit crude and time consuming but at least I'll understand the plan
Andy

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Traverser

Post by RailModeller Support » Wed 25. Apr 2018, 15:42

FatController wrote:The only way I can see to show one is to insert the track, copy it a few times and then draw the rest in the drawing tools. A bit crude and time consuming but at least I'll understand the plan
Yes.. the new Library Editor module has functionality to create transfer tables of any desired shape but unfortunately it wont be available until later this year.
transfer_table_editor.png
transfer_table_editor.png (83.92 KiB) Viewed 205 times
I've made a note to extend it in order to also support traversers of the one-to-multiple-lines flavour.

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
Google+: https://plus.google.com/+RailModeller
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

FatController
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat 14. Apr 2018, 16:39

Re: Traverser

Post by FatController » Fri 27. Apr 2018, 19:52

Thanks. I’ll look out for the feature
Andy

Post Reply