How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
SantaFe
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 17. Nov 2016, 03:08

How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by SantaFe » Thu 17. Nov 2016, 03:14

In order to enter some text I created a new text shape. I type, but I can't figure out how to save my entries. Return and Shift Return just create new lines. Tab doesn't work. Escape just aborts.

Help doesn't seem to say anything, nor does the faq. Searching this forum for "text" fails as the word "text" is too frequent.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by RailModeller Support » Thu 17. Nov 2016, 06:48

You can just click somewhere inside the layout to complete the text edit operation.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

SantaFe
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 17. Nov 2016, 03:08

Re: How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by SantaFe » Fri 18. Nov 2016, 02:40

Thanks, that obviously worked.

However the text is so light it is almost unreadable. Is there any way to make it as dark as the tracks themselves?

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by RailModeller Support » Fri 18. Nov 2016, 05:57

You can change color for any selected element (as well as many other properties) in the sidebar to the right containing the inspector panels.
New elements automatically get the color currently chosen in the sidebar.

An easy way to change the color for all text elements would be to select all texts (Select > All Text Elements), then selecting a color in the sidebar.

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

SantaFe
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 17. Nov 2016, 03:08

Re: How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by SantaFe » Tue 22. Nov 2016, 05:15

Thanks. In the Sidebar to the right I see 2 options: Track and Document.

If I select document all I see are:

Layout Info and Display settings.

There are only two places to select color: Display settings, to the right of "Layout Grid - Every X Units" and Tunnel Style Portals (edgy)".

So I selected Black for both still get the greyed out text.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: How do you enter text in RailModeller Pro?

Post by RailModeller Support » Fri 25. Nov 2016, 12:37

Couple of tips to get familiar with the app:

The online manual can be accesses from the Welcome Window or always via the Help > RailModeller Pro Help menu.
It's a great starting point for basic concepts in the app.

We also have some tutorials (and currently prepare more) on YouTube at
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... x0IA5DNqv-

These demonstrate a number of basic operations.


Regarding your question coloring the current selection

The side bar provides general information and quick access to properties and can be switched between two modes: Track and Layout.

Track Mode
In Track mode the side bar contains the following sections:
  • The properties area
  • The info area
  • The list of layers
Layout Mode
In Layout mode the side bar contains the following sections:
  • The properties area
  • The info area
  • Display Settings for the current layout
To colorize the selection you would be using the properties area in the Track tab for changing the color of the current selection.

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Post Reply