User Preference Settings

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
NSGeorge
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 9. Feb 2015, 10:07

User Preference Settings

Post by NSGeorge » Tue 24. Feb 2015, 13:04

Is there a way to customize the user interface that I haven't found? Specifically, I want to turn off the autosave feature, or, at a minimum, figure out how to delete "versions" I don't want. I imported my current layout and started drawing various ideas that I knew I didn't want to save. When I opened the layout the next time I had at least seven versions I didn't want. I found the "revert to" button in the menu, but now I want to delete the intervening versions. Frankly, my preference would be to manually save then I can control what I keep and what I don't; however, I would be reasonably happy if I could just get rid of the clutter of versions.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: User Preference Settings

Post by RailModeller Support » Thu 26. Feb 2015, 16:33

Versioning is a feature built-into Mac OS X and the frameworks most Mac apps are built on these days, so, unfortunately -
no, it's not possible as far as I'm aware.

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

User avatar
Bergen
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri 9. Jan 2015, 11:42
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: User Preference Settings

Post by Bergen » Wed 4. Mar 2015, 23:33

What I usually do, when I want to change things to an existing layout without breaking it, is to go to File > Duplicate. It will then open a copy of the layout. The title of the copy is in edit mode right away, so you can update the title of the copy.

I always start the name with the date of creation and then a name. Like: "2015-03-05 grade testing"

Post Reply