Copy and Paste

Discussing model railroad layouts and showing what you've built to the world
Post Reply
No Name Junction
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 26. Sep 2018, 13:25

Copy and Paste

Post by No Name Junction » Wed 26. Sep 2018, 13:39

two questions if I may.
I am new to this programme..

I am finding two areas rather frustrating and need advice please.

Firstly I create so much of a layout but don't like it all so want to grab certain parts and copy them into a new layout document. The only way so far is to duplicate the existing one make a copy and delete all the bits I don't want. This seems very long winded
Is there a better way please

Also copy section of track, I highlight all I want the copy and paste but only one section is produced?

Also I keep creating various versions on a theme of 18 x 18 square, without really knowing my needs and what will work. Are there any members out there who would at some point cast an eye over my planning and tear it to pieces/amend/and generally help me avoid making expensive mistakes.
I am planning in peace set track as I can't seem to master curve or gaps on sl100 within this programme. I spend hours trying and failing to lay a single curve in flex track..

Many thanks in anticipation
Paul
No Name Junction

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Copy and Paste

Post by RailModeller Support » Thu 27. Sep 2018, 09:25

Hi Paul,

You can select the desired tracks you'd like to use in the new layout and invoke the Copy function from the Edit menu to copy them.
Then in the new layout you can use Paste from the Edit menu to insert just the selected tracks you've previously copied.

In order to bend a flex track to a specific radius you can either
  • Open the contextual menu (right click) on the track and select Bend to Curved, or
  • Select the flex track and in the settings (gears icon) of the Flex Track inspector in the sidebar to the right select the Bend to Curved function.
FlexDesc.png
FlexDesc.png (155.8 KiB) Viewed 125 times
Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

No Name Junction
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 26. Sep 2018, 13:25

Re: Copy and Paste

Post by No Name Junction » Thu 27. Sep 2018, 11:02

Jan thanks for that I shall see if I am able to manage that, I hope so.

Is there a way of figuring out how close one can put tracks side by side working in sl 100.
Is there a preference that will not allow tracks to be placed too close together?

Thank you again
Paul

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Copy and Paste

Post by RailModeller Support » Fri 28. Sep 2018, 11:23

Hi Paul,

The assistants in the Smart Insert menu in the toolbar offer the Parallel Track function to insert the track currently selected in the Library Catalog at a specific distance (track center to track center) from a reference track in the layout:
parallel_insert.png
parallel_insert.png (211.32 KiB) Viewed 118 times

In addition the measurement tool (shortcut R) can also be used to measure distances of tracks and other elements in the layout.

However, a dedicated overlap detection for tracks in the layout is not yet available.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Post Reply