Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
A_RMRP_Planner
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 18. Feb 2020, 03:30

Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by A_RMRP_Planner »

Hello everyone,

I am working on designing a triple Kato Unitack loop, but I can't find the Kato HO Unitrack interchange crossover track pieces in the database, such as the HV4 being 3-114. Any idea why this is? Or do I have to create one using basic turnouts?
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by RailModeller Support »

Hi there!

Kato Unitrack HV4 looks like a set of individual tracks -
do you have the individual part numbers of the articles in the set?

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
A_RMRP_Planner
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 18. Feb 2020, 03:30

Re: Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by A_RMRP_Planner »

I am afraid not Jan, that's what I am trying to find out, so I make sure each side is even. I did find out the numbers for the two points but not the straight pieces.
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by RailModeller Support »

Got it!
So according to https://www.1999.co.jp/eng/10147590 the Unitrack HV4 set (#3-114) includes
  • No. 6 electric points (left) × 2,
  • S94 × 2 auxiliary straight line,
  • S149 × 2 straight lines

I've recreated the set in RailModeller Pro according to this description and it looks good:

HV4 in RailModeller with individual tracks
HV4 in RailModeller with individual tracks
Screenshot 2020-09-21 at 07.39.28.png (103.54 KiB) Viewed 1222 times

Kato Unitrack HV4
Kato Unitrack HV4
10147590a.jpg (44.07 KiB) Viewed 1222 times


Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
A_RMRP_Planner
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 18. Feb 2020, 03:30

Re: Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by A_RMRP_Planner »

Hey Jan,

Sorry for the late reply. It worked and thanks for your help. I am working to create a large loop of Kato Unitrack pieces that contains 34", 31", 28", 26" and 24" inch radius curves. Think of it as a supersized horseshoe curve. I am having trouble finding the right pieces to line up from the switches to each of the curves. Think you could help me out please? Here is a screen grab off what it looks like.

Image
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Cannot find Kato Unitrack interchange Track in Database.

Post by RailModeller Support »

Sorry but we don't have the resources to help designing individual layouts - manufacturers however often provide guides on how to use their track system, specifically for purely sectional tracks.

All the best,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
Post Reply