Page 1 of 1

Bug: Setting a grade with Scalextric Track

Posted: Tue 24. Mar 2020, 00:56
by david oxford
I use RailModeller to design Scalextric digital/sport slot car layouts.

I want to design a bridge/flyover. I can set track pieces at ground level, and at (say) ground + 10 cm. But I can't create a grade/slope from one level to the other.

If I select a single straight track piece, and pick the menu item Element > Adjust Height > Create Grade to Track, then it shows the 'A' and "B' levels at the same end of the piece, which doesn't make sense. There's no way that I can see to make a slope on this piece:
Screenshot 2020-03-23 at 11.30.42.png
Screenshot 2020-03-23 at 11.30.42.png (44.94 KiB) Viewed 555 times
Alternatively, if I want to make my grade/slope over more than once track piece, that fails in a different way (though my Software Engineer brain suggests these might be two different manifestations of the same bug):

No grades for slot car tracks

Posted: Tue 24. Mar 2020, 07:56
by RailModeller Support
Hello David,

At this point grades can be adjusted for plain tracks consisting of a single track (i.e. most model trains) but not for complex track elements like switches, crossings or slot car tracks that are assembled of multiple individual tracks, e.g. multiple lanes.

The second message could indicate that the two tracks are not located at the same level thus not connected - you might want to verify in the height profile (2.5D) view.

Thanks,
Jan

Re: Bug: Setting a grade with Scalextric Track

Posted: Tue 24. Mar 2020, 13:16
by david oxford
I can't make any sense of this whatsoever. :(

In the second screenshot, they're all at the same level. I just want to make one track rise above the other than fall back down on the other side. I can't work out how to do it. Anyone got a step-by-step instruction with screenshots, for slot-car track?
Screenshot 2020-03-24 at 13.13.34.png
Screenshot 2020-03-24 at 13.13.34.png (116.77 KiB) Viewed 544 times
PS I've seen the video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtEhHiA-Pqs

I'm basically doing the same thing, but I'm getting the "multiple track sections" popup. I think the problem is specific to the Scalextric library (or maybe slots in general?)

Re: Bug: Setting a grade with Scalextric Track

Posted: Tue 24. Mar 2020, 13:48
by RailModeller Support
Hi David,
david oxford wrote:
Tue 24. Mar 2020, 13:16
. I just want to make one track rise above the other than fall back down on the other side
Slopes/grades for (multi-lane) slot car tracks are currently not supported.
I've replicated your layout and the 'Multiple track sections' message in this context is misleading, I'll look into it!

To raise an entire track section you can e.g. select all the tracks in question and use the Elements > Height > Shift up/down menu command.

All the best,
Jan

Re: Bug: Setting a grade with Scalextric Track

Posted: Tue 24. Mar 2020, 16:47
by david oxford
Ah ok, thanks, Jan