Changing layout scale

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
robfz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 10. Dec 2019, 21:07

Changing layout scale

Post by robfz » Tue 10. Dec 2019, 21:28

Hello - There are so many great layouts on the Forum, and I'd like to use one as a basis for my own efforts. Is there an easy way to convert a layout's scale? E.g from HO to N ?
Thank you

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Changing layout scale

Post by RailModeller Support » Wed 11. Dec 2019, 06:40

Hello Rob,

Not entirely sure what the question is -
would you like to replace all tracks in a layout with tracks from a different track system at a different model scale?

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro

robfz
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 10. Dec 2019, 21:07

Re: Changing layout scale

Post by robfz » Wed 11. Dec 2019, 19:50

Hi Jan - yes, I'd like to take all (or part) of an HO plan, and convert it to N or Z scale.

Cheers,

Robert

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Changing layout scale

Post by RailModeller Support » Thu 19. Dec 2019, 14:10

Hello Robert,

Thanks for clarifying! Unfortunately there are (to my knowledge) no vendors offering track systems in multiple model scales that can be scaled up or down, i.e. including equivalent curved track radii at similar parallel track distances, turnouts with similar geometries, etc.

So no, it's not possible to automatically recreate a layout in a different model scale.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro

Post Reply