Multiple level layouts

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
chrisridd
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 13. Feb 2015, 17:20

Multiple level layouts

Post by chrisridd » Fri 13. Oct 2017, 10:16

Hi,

I'm trying to plan a layout which is on multiple levels.

It seemed like it would be useful to have a "baseboard" for each level, but that's not allowed - all baseboards sit at elevation 0.

So my next attempt was to create a rectangle shape and use that to fake the upper level, but that's also not possible and they all sit at elevation 0.

I'm probably not approaching this problem correctly! What is the recommended way to manage multiple level layouts?

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Multiple level layouts

Post by RailModeller Support » Tue 24. Oct 2017, 12:03

You're correct - At this time baseboards and shapes are limited to level zero.
There's a feature request to improve this and we're probably going to tackle this at some point when time allows
(https://railmodeller.uservoice.com/foru ... -elevation)

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: http://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Peter Cook
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 7. Nov 2017, 02:11

Re: Multiple level layouts

Post by Peter Cook » Tue 7. Nov 2017, 02:26

I have a multi level layout - what I did was to create new layers and put them above the stuff at 0 level - one for the elevated baseboard, one for the track, and one for any scenery that goes over that upper level track. Plan wise they can be turned off to see what is underneath, and while profile wise they are all currently at 0 level, when height can be allocated, they are ready to go.

Peter

Post Reply