New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
kenj
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 7. Dec 2016, 16:07

New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Post by kenj » Wed 7. Dec 2016, 21:35

Hi. Thank you for creating this RR software. I'm using it to create a christmas tree layout.

The auto-connect feature is fantastic and an incredible time saver. Overall, I'm very pleased with the functionality. My layout is all one level, but there are a lot of objects on the screen.

I wanted to give some initial feedback on the layer and grouping functionalities. I'm using the layers extensively as a gathering of similar objects. For example, all track is in one layer, houses in another layer, same idea each for scenery, platform, raised platform supports, electrical, cutouts, etc). In this way, I can hide particular layers while moving other items around on the screen. I group objects together for ease of moving the combined group around on the screen.

1) Grouping is lost after I reopen the saved file. E.g. I group a square and text, save, close and reopen file. Square and text are no longer grouped. This is true for ALL of my individual groupings. Is this a known problem?

2) Feature request: Allow multiple objects to be selected and moved to a new layer.
Right now, if I select multiple items, only one gets moved to the different layer.

3) Feature request: Allow an entire group to be moved to a different layer.
Right now (like feature request 2), only one of the objects in the group is moved.

4) Feature request: Allow an objects on screen to be moved to a hidden layer.
I hide a layer (of objects) so I can easily select an on-screen item that's covered by another. However, if I want to move that selected object to the hidden layer, I first have to unhide the layer.

I'll post more as I use it more.

Thank you again,
Ken

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Post by RailModeller Support » Thu 8. Dec 2016, 06:36

Hi Ken,
kenj wrote:1) Grouping is lost after I reopen the saved file. E.g. I group a square and text, save, close and reopen file. Square and text are no longer grouped. This is true for ALL of my individual groupings. Is this a known problem?
As far as I can tell from our internal tests (and from user feedback) grouping if working fine in general.
Can you get in touch via email with the specific sample layout that doesn't work for you? Thanks.

kenj wrote:2) Feature request: Allow multiple objects to be selected and moved to a new layer.
3) Feature request: Allow an entire group to be moved to a different layer.
To do this you can use either the Layer > New layer with current selection or Layer > Assign selection to layer menu commands.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

kenj
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 7. Dec 2016, 16:07

Re: New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Post by kenj » Thu 8. Dec 2016, 16:24

Hi. The issue with grouping (being lost after re-open file) is intermittent. I'll try to figure out when it's happening (or if it's user error).

Regarding moving a group to a different layer, I'm using the menu "Move to Layer" when right-clicking on the mouse. The problem is that only one of the objects in the group is moved the new layer and the other object(s) in the group remain in their current layer. This creates a group that's now split across layers.

Here's the (repeatable) scenario.

1) Combine 2 overlapping objects (e.g. circle with word in middle) into a group.
2) Select that group and use the "Move To Layer" menu to move it to another layer.

Only one of the objects in the group is moved.

kenj
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 7. Dec 2016, 16:07

Re: New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Post by kenj » Fri 9. Dec 2016, 17:07

Losing all grouping information on reopen is definitely an issue but I have not determined why it's happening. It's definitely painful though. My layout has 330 elements right now.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 12.03.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 12.03.32 PM.png (666.71 KiB) Viewed 1658 times

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: New user: Feedback (bugs and feature reqs)

Post by RailModeller Support » Sat 10. Dec 2016, 11:17

Hello Ken,
kenj wrote:Regarding moving a group to a different layer, I'm using the menu "Move to Layer" when right-clicking on the mouse. The problem is that only one of the objects in the group is moved the new layer and the other object(s) in the group remain in their current layer. This creates a group that's now split across layers.
That's a bug - thanks for pointing that out!
It will be fixed in the next update.

kenj wrote:Losing all grouping information on reopen is definitely an issue but I have not determined why it's happening.
Ok, thanks for clarifying. We will perform some more internal testing around this issue.
Are all groups gone, i.e. does the number of groups in the Layout Info section under the Document tab drop to zero?
kenj wrote:My layout has 330 elements right now.
Looking great, though - thanks for sharing.
I'll see if I can find out anything regarding the grouping issues you've described.

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Post Reply