Polygon points only added in one place

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
ErnestHouse
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 7. Sep 2015, 12:40
Location: SoFla

Polygon points only added in one place

Post by ErnestHouse » Mon 12. Oct 2015, 00:27

When I add points to a polygon, they only get added in one specific place. Is that working as designed or a bug? I expected to be able to add a point anywhere along the edge by clicking that point.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.20 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.20 PM.png (82.73 KiB) Viewed 2936 times
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.39 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.39 PM.png (8.68 KiB) Viewed 2936 times
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-10-12 at 1.21.32 PM.png (7.27 KiB) Viewed 2936 times
Last edited by ErnestHouse on Tue 13. Oct 2015, 10:39, edited 2 times in total.
Regards … ErnestHouse
Reuniting with my childhood post-war Lionel trains.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Polygon points only added in one place

Post by RailModeller Support » Mon 12. Oct 2015, 15:03

Hi Ernest,

definitely doesn't sound right -
when in editing mode the points should be added at the mouse position for a click in both, the line and polygon editing tools.

Click and drag on an existing point will move the point and Option-Click will remove the point.

Is this not happening for you?

Thanks,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

ErnestHouse
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon 7. Sep 2015, 12:40
Location: SoFla

Re: Polygon points only added in one place

Post by ErnestHouse » Mon 12. Oct 2015, 17:25

Below are three screen shots showing initial polygon, adding one point on the left side and then another on the right. Adding the point on the right, you can see it actually added the point on the left side. Option-click to remove works. I didn;t know about it.
Regards … ErnestHouse
Reuniting with my childhood post-war Lionel trains.

rcacciato
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 8. Oct 2015, 15:23

Re: Polygon points only added in one place

Post by rcacciato » Tue 13. Oct 2015, 00:52

As a corollary to this (not sure if I should open a new topic, Jan), I need to create pentagons of specific sizes. Is there any way to edit a pentagon size/shape the way you can edit a rectangle (by typing CMD-E and editing dimensions in the old version? (not sure of how it works in Pro since I just purchased it)
Thanks.

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Polygon points only added in one place

Post by RailModeller Support » Wed 14. Oct 2015, 04:56

Hi,
ErnestHouse wrote:Adding the point on the right, you can see it actually added the point on the left side. Option-click to remove works.
Thanks for the screen shots, that helped - It's the current behaviour of the tool to append the new point to whatever the last point was.
I suppose it makes complete sense to add a point between existing points if the line was clicked, e.g. similar to how Illustrator or other vector drawing apps work - it just didn't come to mind yet.
I'll add it to the to-do list for an upcoming update!

rcacciato wrote:I need to create pentagons of specific sizes. Is there any way to edit a pentagon size/shape the way you can edit a rectangle
You can double-click or use 'Edit' from the Element menu (Cmd-E) and either drag the handles to resize any shape, or - for rectangles and circles - enter the specific dimensions directly into the Properties area in the sidebar when the element is selected.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Polygon points only added in one place

Post by RailModeller Support » Tue 26. Jan 2016, 16:02

Quick update:

The latest version (5.0.15) now offers improved poly point editing -
clicking on an existing line will add a point on the line,
clicking in an empty area will append a new point to the last poly (or line) point!

Cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/MacRailSoft

Post Reply