Shapes

Questions, tips and tricks, "How can I..."
Post Reply
offworld
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 19. May 2020, 10:16

Shapes

Post by offworld »

Is there a way to resize shapes? Can't find anything in FAQ's and I can't find a way to do it in the programme. I want to add a shape as a platform both a straight platform and elsewhere as a curve. Might be an idea for a future update to add a dedicated platform shape with adjustable or standard sizes.
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Shapes

Post by RailModeller Support »

Hello there,

Shapes and text inserted using the Shape popup menu in the toolbar can all be resized by editing the element;
either via double-clicking the shape or by using the Element > Edit Element menu command when the shape is selected.

Details are also outlined in the Shapes chapter in the manual!

cheers,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
SPCoast
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 2. Aug 2020, 19:13

Re: Shapes

Post by SPCoast »

I want to create shapes for tortoises and benchwork pieces and place them in relation to the track, to help determine construction details.

There are pre-5.x threads that suggest that direct manipulation of shapes (resize, move...) is possible - but in 5.6.2 it still is not possible to resize a rectangle/square by dragging its corners - or to move it using the mouse. This makes shapes spectacularly unusable...

Since these "features" were said to be fixed in an earlier release, what am I missing? Or is this yet another usability feature that falls into the "we have to treat everything like sectional track" design limitation?

-John
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Shapes

Post by RailModeller Support »

SPCoast wrote: Sun 2. Aug 2020, 20:01 There are pre-5.x threads that suggest that direct manipulation of shapes (resize, move...) is possible - but in 5.6.2 it still is not possible to resize a rectangle/square by dragging its corners - or to move it using the mouse.
Actually that's always been possible:

You can edit the element (double-click or via Element > Edit Element…) to change its shape and use the mouse to move it (click and drag).

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
SPCoast
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun 2. Aug 2020, 19:13

Re: Shapes

Post by SPCoast »

What I'm trying to say is that, on MacOS 10.15.4 and RailModellerPro 6.2.6 (Build 1176), what you said doesn't actually work.

Double clicking on a 2"x2" square shape exposes rotation points that let me rotate the shape with the mouse, as does "Edit Element", but neither lets me actually move the shape with the mouse. Clicking between the little circles, clicking on the little circles, clicking on the interior of the shape, with control, alt, shift, modifiers - nothing causes the shape itself to move and not rotate with a mouse click-drag action. The only way I have found to move it is typing in new X and Y coordinates into the inspector window.

I'd attach my .layout file as an example, but it isn't one of the allowed attachment types...

-John
User avatar
RailModeller Support
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon 24. Nov 2014, 17:27
Contact:

Re: Shapes

Post by RailModeller Support »

Hello John,

No worries - Editing an element will literally edit the shape, e.g. change the size of a rectangle or circle, the shape of a flex track of move individual points in a line/polygon. This is not required for just moving or rotating an element.

When Editing (via double-click or the Element menu)
  • the handles of rectangles or circles can be used to resize the element.

When not in Edit Mode (i.e. the regular mode)
  • a click and drag with the mouse will move the selection,
  • the handles (points at the corners of the selection box) can be used to rotate the shape.

For an element being edited - as per double-clicking - mouse input will e.g. resize the shape (or move individual points, etc.) so rotation is not available while editing.
In order to exit the edit mode you can use the Escape key, switch to another tool, insert a new element or select any menu command.

Hope this helps,
Jan
RailModeller Pro - The model railroad layout design package for the Mac

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RailModeller
YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/IsleoftheKakapo
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/railmodeller
Facebook: https://fb.me/RailModellerPro
Post Reply